Some of our food last Monday – plus Okinawan sweet potatoes, eggs, asparagus, spring onions, dried bananas – not too bad, but a lot of work to forage for it and now feeding two of us!

Recent near-desperation on Marketless Mondays – when we eat  from this landscape – has led me to become very serious about increasing the amount of food we are growing.  I can’t do it alone, and the others here are busy building and finishing houses or working on their own Zone 1 gardens. Luckily, we have a wonderful little camp just perfect for a work-trader.

Right now we are looking to fill this position for September-October, either the whole time or in increments of a few weeks.  Here’s the deal.

You would: Work for 16 hours per week in or near the garden.  Preparing beds, planting, gathering mulch, collecting chicken and rabbit manure, collecting food for the chickens and rabbits, weeding, weed-whacking, and harvesting.  Ideally you already have some gardening skills; we would work with you closely to explain the methods we use.

The rest of the week would be yours’ to spend as you wish.  A car would be helpful but not essential, as we can provide trips into town to get food etc.  It’s a long long walk to the bus.  A cell phone is also very helpful, although not all get service here (Verizon does).

We provide:  An 8′ x 16′ partly screen cabin with a small kitchen including basic cooking supplies, refrigerator/freezer, sink with UV-treated catchment water, and two propane burners. There is a futon, desk, electricity for lighting/computer, and a storage bench.  It is by a stream that you will hear at all times, and chickens that you will here at many times. You share the toilet, shower and laundry, which are outdoors (covered) a walk down the driveway.

You have access to the waterfall-swimming holes on the property and little rock dipping pond. Any fruits and vegetables that are abundant we are glad to share, as well.

There is a lot going on here so we can’t guarantee a peaceful retreat setting at all times, but at many times, it is that 🙂

We require references, even if we know you, and the first week is a trial week, so if it doesn’t work out we aren’t stuck with each other!

You should come with money for personal use (food, toiletries, gas money, medical emergencies).  The only utility you would have to pay for is propane for cooking.

A love for gardening and a good attitude about sweating and being rained on is essential!  Let me know if you are interested and we can talk!  

 

Advertisements